Josh Wood

A journalist's observations on Lebanon and elsewhere

As promised, photos of Hezbollah’s park in Mlita

with 2 comments

Lebanese and Hezbollah flags fly side by side at the Islamist organization's "educational park" at Mlita. Photo by Josh Wood

The crowd at Mlita on southern Lebanon's anniversary of independence on May 25, 2010. Photo by Josh Wood.

Inside a bunker at Mlita. Photo by Josh Wood.

A US-made TOW missile launcher on display. Guides refused to comment on how it may have been acquired. Photo by Josh Wood.

An anti-aircraft gun at Mlita. Photo by Josh Wood.

Mlita's strategic hilltop view of the "at-Touffah" region surrounding Nabatieh and southern Lebanon. Photo by Josh Wood.

Visitors (and apparently supporters of Brazil, Lebanon and Hezbollah) at Mlita on May 25, 2010. Photo by Josh Wood.

As promised, a few pictures of Hezbollah’s “educational park” at Mlita in southern Lebanon which I blogged about a while back.  I’m bad at getting my own photos up on the site for two reasons:

1.  I have incredibly bad luck with cameras in this country.  To date, I’ve had two nicked off me in country, one at gunpoint.  Thus, I usually just travel with a pen, steno book and voice recorder.

2.  The internet in Lebanon is horrible.  It took over an hour to upload these.

That said, I’ll try my best to get some more photos uploaded in the future, Inshallah.

Written by woodenbeirut

August 16, 2010 at 2:12 am

Posted in Hezbollah, Lebanon

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yes, I always get in trouble when I take photos in Lebanon. I’ve decided camera phones are a lot more stealth..my i-phone has allowed me to get some really good shots!

    How did you manage to get these photos? Did you try resizing them before you uploaded them?

    Great post!

    meinlebanon

    August 20, 2010 at 5:31 pm

    • Thanks.

      Hezbollah is fine with foreigners visiting and taking photos in Mlita as they’re trying to really show it off. If you’re obviously foreign, they’ll assign you a guide at the gate when you arrive to keep an eye on you and explain the exhibits.

      They’re usually not so fine with foreigners taking photos of their other areas in the country though.

      I’ll try resizing next time – though I’m slightly illiterate when it comes to editing photos on computers!

      woodenbeirut

      August 20, 2010 at 10:26 pm


Leave a Reply

